Steven William Gray, PharmD, J.D.

Steven William Gray, PharmD, J.D.
(858) xxx-xxxx
Research Summary

Dr. Gray has more than 40 years of pharmacy education and practice experience in California. He currently teaches pharmacy law and ethics at UC San Diego Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (SSPPS) as well as two additional California Schools of Pharmacy. During his meritorious career, Dr. Gray has made significant contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

He is a Past President of the American Society for Pharmacy Law. His involvement with CSHP has been as President-elect, President, and Chair of the Board, in addition to volunteering on numerous committees as a CSHP member for over 30 years. Dr. Gray has also been a delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates and permanent delegate to the HOD’s of CSHP and CPhA. In 2018, Dr. Gray retired from being the National Pharmacy Professional Affairs Leader for Kaiser Permanente but his engagement and dedication to the profession of pharmacy is still present.

Academic Achievements

University of Southern California, Pharm.D., Northrop University School of Law, J.D., University of North Carolina Kenan-Flagler Business School, Advanced Leadership Program (1997)

“Lifetime Honorary Membership Recipient” California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (2018), “Pharmacist of the Year”, California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (2015), “Execuitve in Residence”, Western University of Health Sciences College of Pharmacy (2009)


Law and Ethics (SPPS 204)

Key Contributions

He served on the Boards of Directors of the California Pharmacist Association’s (CPhA), Pharmacy Foundation of California and CPhA’s for-profit subsidiaries’ PBM, the Pharmaceutical Care Network and its Premier Pharmacists Networks. After serving as CPhA’s Speaker of its House of Delegates, in 2004, Dr. Gray served as president and Chair of the CPhA’s Board of Trustees.

In 2006 years on its Board of Directors, he became President of the national association for managed care pharmacists, the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy, and served on the national Joint Commission of Pharmacy Practitioners (JCPP) with the Presidents of APhA, ASHP, NCPA, and other national pharmacy leaders. Between 2012 and 2014 he served as President-elect, President and Chair of the Board, respectively, for the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists.