Rebecca Kandilian, P4 Student Pharmacist Recognized for Leadership

Rebecca Kandilian, P4 student pharmacist has been named the recipient of the 2013 Student Leadership Award, the Student Leadership in Health-System Practice Award by the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (CSHP) and the Joseph H. Beckerman Memorial Scholarship.

Kandilian served as the CSHP-UC San Diego Student Chapter President where she oversaw the activities of over 170 student members and its executive board. During her presidency, she spearheaded the development of student-provided tobacco cessation services at the UC San Diego Student-Run Free Clinics and established an Organ Donation Awareness focus group. Kandilian has also been involved in several other leadership and community service activities including being the Team Leader of the UCSD California Pharmacy Student Leadership Program (CAPSLEAD) Team, and serving as a Board of Trustee Representative for the California Pharmacists Association (CPhA).

These awards are presented at CSHP’s annual meeting, Seminar, held October 31-November 3, 2013 in Anaheim, California. The Student Leadership Award recognizes one student from each California School of Pharmacy, who has contributed to CSHP and the pharmacy profession. The Student Leadership in Health-System Practice Award annually recognizes one student with an interest in pharmacy practice in health-systems that has demonstrated leadership ability. The Joseph H. Beckerman Memorial Scholarship annually recognizes a student who exhibits a desire for a career in health-system pharmacy and demonstrates characteristics that were important to Joe Beckerman: ethical behavior, professionalism, leadership, caring, and compassion.